This week…

Maths:  We are looking at multiplying and dividing by 10, 100 and 1000 this week.  We will begin with whole numbers and then look at decimals too.  Click on the link below for a game of bingo to help you learn:

http://www.topmarks.co.uk/Flash.aspx?f=bingotimesordivide

English:  We are looking at how to write a really effective book review this week.  This will link into homework later on in the week where the boys will be writing a book review for our class reader.  We are continuing to work on effective adjectives too and the handwriting letter for this week is the letter ‘o’.

 

8 thoughts on “This week…

  1. This book is called Danny Champion of the World by Roald Dahl. The book is all about the childhood of a boy called Danny. He lives in a caravan with his dad. We are told at the beginning that Danny’s mum has died. Danny and his dad have lots of adventures. They run a filling station as well.

    Danny is a really nice boy and his dad is a really fun father. But Danny finds out that his dad has a deep dark secret. He is a poacher and I don’t like this because he is killing nature. Danny and his dad then plot together against Mr Hazell, a rich land owner. They want to take all his pheasants away so there will be none in the woods for his shooting party on 1st October.

    My favourite part of the book is when Danny’s dad fell in a ditch when he was poaching and Danny came driving along in the car to find his dad. A police car then turned up and Danny skidded into a mud track. Danny got out of his car with a torch and found his dad. I enjoyed this bit because I didn’t know what was going to happen next. It was exciting.

    The book makes me feel happy because Danny leads a good and full life. I was pleased Danny and his dad poached from Mr Hazell because he is unkind and nasty. Boys and girls would like this book if they enjoy adventure stories and aged 8-10.

  2. Title: Danny the Champion of the World
    Author: Roald Dahl
    Reviewed by: Louis Berger

    This is a fiction book about the childhood of a boy called Danny. He lives in a cosy and snug caravan in the middle of the woods with his father, William. One day his father comes home with a shotgun in his hand and when Danny confronts his father about the gun, his father tells him that he has a secret to share with him. He confesses to Danny that he has been breaking the law by poaching pheasants and putting horse’s hair inside raisins and feeding them to the pheasants causing them to stop moving.

    I like the bit in the story when Danny steps outside the caravan and sees a shadow. I enjoyed reading this part because I found it spooky. I also thought it was clever to read about Danny’s father putting horse hair inside the raisins so that he could poach the pheasants because it is an unusual thing to think about doing, but I don’t really like it when people hurt animals because animals do us no harm and we should take care of them and not hurt them. If there was a part of the book that I could change, it would be that none of the pheasants died.

    The story had parts to it that made me feel happy and sad. The bit that made me happy is that Danny feels that his dad is the most marvellous and exciting father that any boy could have, but poaching the pheasants made me sad.

    I would recommend my friends to read this book, but I think that there are better books to read by Roald Dahl. This one was not one of my favourite books by this author. I think the book is best suited to boys and girls aged between 6-10 years old.

  3. Danny champion of the world is a fabulous book written by the amazing Roald Dahl. The book is about the childhood of a boy called Danny. He lives in a caravan in a field. He lives with only his dad. Danny’s dad is a lovely, talkative dad and always gives Danny something to do.
    I think anyone who likes exiting books should read it. I think its aimed at 6-12 because any younger and they might not understand it. In this book my favourite part is where they go poaching in the woods. I find this bit has a lot of suspense and I really like it. The bit I didn’t like was when Mr Victor Hazel was threatening Danny with a leather holster.
    If I had to change something I would change it so that Danny’s dad didn’t break his ankle.

  4. Title: Danny the Champion of the World
    Author: Roald Dahl
    The outline of the story : There is a boy called Danny and one day his dad goes sneaking out of the
    caravan then suddenly Danny wakes up and he panics. His mother died at child birth Danny makes an invention as a child for poaching.
    Score:9/10
    Strengths: I like the way the author wrote about how interesting Danny’s father was.
    Weaknesses: I didn’tlike that Danny and his dad were murdering innocent birds.
    Recommendations: I think that this is a fantastic book because it ends happily and there is a message for parents to be sparky and look after their kids. I would recommend this book for children over 7 years old.

  5. Book Review – Danny Champion of the World
    by Roald Dahl

    The book is about the childhood of a boy called Danny. He lives with his father in a caravan next to his father’s filling station. The main characters in the book are Danny, Danny’s father, Dr Spencer, Mr Victor Hazel, Mr Rabbatts and Mrs Clipstone. Danny and his father are very poor but are very happy. The story is about Danny finding out that his dad is a poacher and takes someone else’s property. Danny’s father needs Danny and Danny needs his dad.

    I liked the part when Danny and his Dad took all the pheasants because it was exciting. My favourite part was when all of the pheasants came out of Mrs Clipstone’s pram.

    I didn’t like it when Captain Lancaster got the cane and smacked Danny and his best friend on the hand with the cane. I didn’t like this because they only said a few words and it seemed unfair. I think I would prefer the ending to be changed – they did lots of hard work but only got 1 or 2 pheasants. I think they should have been rewarded with a few more pheasants.

    The story made me feel excited, scared and worried because they got caught by Mr Rabbatts and he had a rifle and a labrador. That was a really scary part of the book. It also made me feel sad because Danny’s mum had died. The story made me feel that I am lucky that I have got a furnished house with a lot of electrical gadgets. It also made me think that it is wrong to take someone else’s property no matter how poor you are. I learnt that stealing someones property will get you punished as when they got all the pheasants they only ended up with 1 or 2 pheasants. I would recommend it to a friend because it is interesting and you can’t stop turning the pages. People who like adventures would like this story.

    Roald Dahl is one of the best authors I have ever read. I would rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.

    by Isaac Walters Monday 13th October 2014

  6. Book Review by Joshua Peacock

    Danny Champion of the World was written by Roald Dahl. The book is about a boy called Danny and his childhood. He lives in a caravan in the countryside and one night he finds out a secret about his dad. Danny drives a car when he is nine, rescues his dad and becomes a hero in his village.
    I recommend that everyone should read it because it is exciting and descriptive, you never know what is going to happen next.

  7. Book Review – Danny Champion Of The Would by Roald Dahl
    This book is about Danny a boy who finds out that his father is a poacher.
    They go on a poaching trip to poach 200 pheasants because Danny’s dad falls down a tiger trap in Hazell’s wood. The main characters are Danny and his dad Danny’s dad is a poacher and is sparky and Danny is exciting character because he drove a car in the middle of the story.

    My favourite part was when Danny drove a car because it is exciting.

    I learnt that if you drive and you are under 19 you should never drive a car. I did not like the poaching because it is illegal. The doctor did poaching as well. The book made me excited because Danny drove a car and when the pheasants woke up.

    Boys of the age of 5 and over should read this book.

  8. Danny the Champion of the World – Author: Roald Dahl
    Danny and his dad are the main characters in the book – Danny the Champion of the World.

    Danny is a hard working and mature 9 years old boy who knows a lot about fixing cars. His dad has been teaching him about the mechanics of a car and how to be a good poacher. His dad is a very patient man.

    In the story Danny’s dad reveals a deep dark secret, which is that every night he walks to Hazelwood and kills pheasants.

    I liked the part which describes how Danny and his dad hide from the guards who protect the pheasants in Hazelwood. I liked it because it sounded very exciting.

    I didn’t like the opening chapter which describes Danny and his dad and which wasn’t exciting to read.

    I would have liked to have seen longer chapters describing Danny and his dad’s adventures in Hazelwood.

    The story was fun and exciting to read. The scariest bits were when the guards were trying to kill Danny and his dad.

    The story made me think about the fun that Danny had with his dad and how close he was to his dad, especially given that his mum is not alive.

    I learned that poaching can sometimes be a cruel activity. This is a very good book that will help expand your vocabulary because this book has lots of descriptive words.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *